The European Travel Information and Authorization System, or ETIAS for short, is a visa waiver that allows entrance to 26 countries across Europe. While this authorization will still grant access to European countries that are part of the Schengen agreement, there are a few countries that will be added to the ETIAS scheme by 2021. 

The Schengen agreement was made so that nationals of these countries could cross borders for the trading of goods or migrating from their country to another without the hassle. It is important to note that not all EU members are part of this agreement, and not all Schengen countries are part of the EU. 

So before heading on that cross country trip through Europe by 2021, you have to know which borders you’re allowed to cross with this visa waiver. Here are the 4 non-Schengen areas that the ETIAS visa waiver covers.


The 4 Non-Schengen Countries that Will Be Part of the ETIAS Scheme


1. Croatia

Croatia is located in central Europe on the coast of the Adriatic Sea. The nearest ETIAS countries around it are Hungary, which is in the northeast, and Montenegro to its southeast. Croatia is on its way to officially be part of the Schengen agreement, meeting all technical conditions to join these areas. 

With its scenic ocean views and beautiful historical sites, this country may be familiar to fans of the hit HBO series Game of Thrones, where the country’s capital and surrounding cities were used as one of its main settings, King’s Landing.   

Quick Facts

  • Capital: Zagreb
  • Official Language: Croatian
  • Currency‎: Kuna (HKR)

Places to See in Croatia

  • Diocletian’s Palace, Split
  • Rector’s Palace, Dubrovnik
  • Plitvice Lakes, Zagreb

2. Romania

Romania is located near east-central Europe, with Hungary being the nearest Schengen country to it. It is a sovereign state and part of the European Union. And while it still isn’t part of the Schengen agreement, it is set to become a member, thus the ETIAS scheme.

This destination is less known to international tourists and is mostly visited by other European citizens. Interested travelers would know this as the country famous for the tales of Dracula, with Transylvania being part of its many regions. Bran Castle, situated atop a cliff, is most associated with this legend.

Quick Facts

  • Capital: Bucharest
  • Official Language: Romanian
  • Currency‎: Romanian leu

Places to See in Romania

  • Bran Castle, Transylvania
  • Clock Tower, Sighișoara
  • Corvin Castle, Hunedoara

3. Bulgaria

Located in Southeast Europe, Bulgaria has one neighboring Schengen country: Greece. It is also close to Romania, which is north to this country. Joining the EU in 2007, Bulgaria is expected to be part of the Schengen agreement soon.

This Balkan nation is a melting pot of cultures with Greek, Ottoman, Slavic, and Persian influences around the country. Bulgaria is also known for being the Land of Roses, with the town of Kazanlak producing 85 percent of the world’s rose oil. It is also very diverse in mountains and terrains.

Quick Facts

  • Capital: Sofia
  • Official Language: Bulgarian
  • Currency‎: Bulgarian lev

Places to See in Bulgaria

  • Alexander Nevsky Cathedral, Sofia
  • Seven Rila Lakes, Rila Mountains
  • Thracian Tomb of Kazanlak

4. Cyprus 

Being the third largest Mediterranean island, Cyprus lies 480 miles southeast of mainland Greece. This island had recently become a member of the EU in 2004, and will soon follow the Schengen Agreement by the time ETIAS is fully implemented.

Cyprus rarely meets other weather conditions other than sunny, shining an estimated 300 days per year. This makes it an ideal beach destination in the summer.

Quick Facts

  • Capital: Nicosia
  • Official Language: Greek, Turkish
  • Currency‎: Euro

Places to See in Cyprus

  • Tombs of the Kings, Chloraka
  • Nissi Beach, Ayia Napa
  • Cape Greco, Ayia Napa


Because these countries opt to be part of the ETIAS scheme, they will all soon be part of the Schengen agreement. So by 2021, you can very well put these 4 countries in your itinerary. The ETIAS countries will comprise of 26 countries, all of which you can visit for 90 days. 

ALSO READ: EU Schengen – Complete Information and New Policy Updates

With ETIAS soon to be implemented for visa-exempt countries to improve European borders, there will be some extra steps taken to travel across Europe. is a visa assistance service that makes European travels simpler by taking care of all your document requirements needed to travel to the ETIAS-approved countries. Contact Us now and let us assist you with your trip.

Visit our news page regularly for more informative content.